Wayne State University Honorary Degree Committee: Leonard Leone, Chairman Records

Accession Number: 
2.5 linear feet (5 MB)

The University Committee on Honorary Degrees (Honorary Degree Committee) at Wayne State University was responsible for reviewing the candidates for, and determining the recipients of, various honorary degrees from WSU. Professor Leonard Leone served as both a member and as Chairman of the Honorary Degree Committee. A Wayne alumnus, Leone became the Director of the Wayne University Theatre in 1946 and a professor of speech in 1957. In the course of his career, Leone reopened the Bonstelle Theatre in 1952, created the Hilberry Theatre and its nationally recognized graduate training program in 1963, and was honored as Distinguished Professor of Theatre Arts in 1964, among many other achievements.

The majority of these records are named files for each candidate and/or recipient of an honorary degree from WSU between 1958 and 1965. Also included in this collection are the administrative records of the Honorary Degree Committee during this period. These include correspondence between the committee and Clarence Hilberry, the President of Wayne State University from 1953 to 1965, as well as committee principles and procedures, directories, and various meeting minutes and notices, most of which were prepared by J.W. Menge, the Secretary of the University Committee on Honorary Degrees.

1958-1965, bulk 1962-1964
Attachment(click to download)
WSR000223_guide.pdfWSR000223_guide.pdf96.29 KB