UAW Region 3 Records

Accession Number: 
6.5 linear feet (13 MB) 1 OS

United Auto Workers Region 3 was established in 1937, with Russell J. Merrill as its first director, and comprised of locals in Indiana, southern Illinois (moved to Region 4 in 1949), and later Kentucky. Raymond H. Berndt was its longest serving director, holding that office from 1947-1972. Headquartered in Indianapolis, the region is unique in that it consists of a majority of small locals, often parts suppliers.

The records of Region 3 reflect the work of the Citizenship-Legislative Dept. (largely representative, Donald R. Yeagley) and COPE, as well as highlight political concerns of its members, such as support of pro-labor candidates, opposition to right-to-work legislation, and ultra-right groups in the states represented.

Attachment(click to download)
LR000374.pdfLR000374_guide.pdf202.61 KB